Press

Dance of mirages and mysteries

The unadorned and the immoderate have always gone hand in hand in the work that Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté have been building together for over thirty years now. They have kept on examining everything human from unprecedented angles, plunging their hands into "layers of fuzziness". The unsettling quality of the onstage presence, the instant, the assemblage, "actors and spectators (come together) in some sort of giddy existence".

This immediacy, as Patrick Bonté calls attention to, is coupled with "the distancing that art implies". It is put in perspective "in such a way that the memory retains from this moment both its emotional impact and its calling to think about our condition and to make our past intelligible".

Drawing on pictorial inspiration, in the same already-skilfully-explored vein as in Les Dernières Hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien (The Last Hallucinations of Lucas Cranach the Elder) or Simonetta Vespucci, Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté have plumbed the depths of the production’s "phantasmagorical substance"1 in the work by one of the great masters in the field: Francisco de Goya. Considered to be one of the major forerunners of contemporary art, the Spanish painter (1746-1828) has left behind an œuvre marked by the agitation and the darkness of his time. "The sleep of reason produces monsters" is the title he gave to a series of his engravings.

Deaf, alone and convalescing, Goya is over 70 years old when he paints a cycle of terrifying scenes that will later be referred to as Pinturas Negras (1819-1823) on the walls of two rooms of his small house near Madrid. Amongst them is the Witches’ Sabbath, otherwise kown as The Great He-Goat.

A row of silhouettes emerges from the darkness. Sober suits, white shirts, uniforms of the everyday occidental life. Muffled, almost liquid, sounds occupy the space. The frail figure of a child soon comes to the fore. She will be the observer and the guiding thread of the universe that is going to deploy its mirages and mysteries. 

Juan Benítez, Dounia Depoorter, Thomas Dupal, Yvain Juillard, Frauke Mariën, Fernando Martin, Isabelle Lamouline, Shantala Pèpe, Candy Saulnier, Fatou Traore and the young Eva Ponties-Domeneghetty (alternating with Marie-Lou Adam) inhabit The Great He-Goat and constitute its shifting and plural body. Together they dig the sinuous tracks of the piece and its multiple languages : rythmic, visual, sensual, resonant, vocal, physical.

The performance features recurring traits of the art of the Company Mossoux-Bonté : mannequins, masks and doppelgangers. Levitation, duplication, dismemberment and illusions build and populate this organic and orgiastic succession of tableaux in a nightmarish and fascinating ritual. This ceremonial borrows from sacred imagery as much as from the codes of cabaret. Its powerfully visual character never neglects our other senses.

The creation has met with its first – enthusiast -  audience in Charleroi Danse’s Ecuries for two performances (on the 15th and 16th March 2019). We are hoping for many more tour dates on our stages for this masterful opus.

Marie Baudet, La Libre / March 2019

All quotations are drawn from "Philosophy’s stage is philosophy without a stage" by Patrick Bonté, published in "Philoscène. La philosophie à l’épreuve du plateau." / Alternatives Théâtrales n° 135 (2018)

 

« The Great He-Goat », a dark Sabbath of dancing figures

A fascinating succession of sombre, surreal, and powerful tableaux, where doubles and barely made-out presences roam in the shadows.

Ten performers extract themselves out of the shadows to give flesh and lend their voice to characters, before becoming one with the shadows again. Without words but with their body as their only means of expression, they are trying to reach the right state, somewhere between madness, mystic trance and possession, to find their place in the tableaux conceived by Nicole Mossoux. All of this under the eyes of an eleventh performer, a young girl in a blue coat who acts as a witness throughout the different scenes (…).

The Great He-Goat abounds in abnormal states of the body. They can levitate. Hide between worrying masks and costumes. Mostly, they can be distorted, multiplied, become mixed up with the help of prostheses and hyper-realistic half-mannequins that are grafted on the performers’ limbs.
If, after a while, you do get used to differentiating between humans and puppets, the first minutes of the show are absolutely staggering, when you realize that the uniformed horde of men and women that emerge out of the dark stage background are missing several pairs of legs given the number of heads in the crowd (...). 

Overall, the staged paintings are superb and the group scenes impressive. The richly-coloured costumes, astutely lit, stand out from the shadows. The assembly gathered here is giving us a lesson in the theatrical potential of the movement.

The treatment of sound deserves a special mention. For the most part, it is produced live by the performers gurgling, murmuring or wheezing. The recorded sounds are then amplified, sometimes distorted or postponed, before being reinjected on the stage via loudspeakers that do not necessarily stand near the source of the sound… All of this contributes to the strange, unreal and worrying quality of the piece (…).

In essence, this is not a work of joyfulness and light. However, contrary to what one might think when first faced with the esthetic of the piece, it doesn’t mean that it is morbid. There is hope, moving and poignant scenes, and links being established that can comfort us in the heart of darkness.

A beautiful, symbolically-charged, powerful and strongly incarnated piece composed of dramatized movements. Those looking for pure dance are in for a surprise (…). Definitely a must-see.

Mathieu Dochterman, TouteLaCulture.com / March 2019

 

(...) a dizzying maundering around Goya’s blackness.

Nicole Mossoux’ true skill here lays in the substitution of the manipulation of the minds by the manipulation of the bodies, to the point that the spectator’s senses are dazed. A vivid demonstration of how easily-manipulated we can be! Where we think we see a puppet, the ostensibly light body of a woman hauls herself out the arms supporting her. Another person vanishes into four arms or walks on artificial limbs, their own legs having somehow disappeared. And, between all these paradoxical and sometimes Kafkaesque images, even where our brain clearly detects, seeing a mannequin’s head, the missing lower limbs, our mind willingly grants it a full human status. The company does not do otherwise: these puppets, fashioned by Natacha Belova, all have stage names that only the artists know about.

For Nicole Mossoux (directing in collaboration with Patrick Bonté), Goya is not so much the point of destination as the point of departure. The goal is not to recreate the painting, but to evoke the universe in which the painter was navigating, namely a profoundly clerical and aristocratic Spain, a war-torn country whose people suffered through the Inquisition and the occult beliefs they were sensitive to. The Great He-Goat draws upon this historical backdrop as a metaphor of our present times, when manipulative minds are back to steal from our very souls (…).

The images in The Great He-Goat evoking piety, inquisition, suffering or poverty come from elsewhere: primarily from the other Pinturas Negras, but also from everything Goya did not put in his emblematic body of work, as well as from today’s world. Dreamlike images, danses macabres and baton dances expressing fury and despair, jerky gestures, violence of war and social game taking their cue in particular from Goya’s moral commitment. Nicole Mossoux is finding her way ahead setting a very personal, unique and brilliant path, once again in the company of a great master and in a moment of perfect complicity.

Thomas Hahn, Danser Canal Historique / April 2019

 

The Company Mossoux-Bonté’s attraction to paintings has been no secret ever since one of its founding productions “Les dernières hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien”. Another of its defining features is the doppelgänger motif famously explored in “Twin Houses” where Nicole Mossoux, soloist, was struggling with the obsessive presence and harrowing fantasies of her mannequin-double.

By infusing into her work one of Goya’s darkest paintings “The Great He-Goat” or “The Witches’ Sabbath” and thanks to her ten dancers/performers (a rare luxury) – at the height of their expressiveness and togetherness -, Nicole Mossoux turns her doubles into a multitude of ghosts, a worried, troubled and troubling people (…).

In this rich production, replete with a limitless pictorial and musical imagination, the individual wrench becomes a collective, devastating, self-destructive tear. Nicole Mossoux imagines the anguish of a deaf and aging artist in the face of his physical misery and the rift among a society beset by civil war.

Ten museum guards are engulfed by the nightmares that haunt Goya’s frescoes in full view of a young girl who acts as a retentional connecting thread throughout the piece. Little by little, the group turns and divides into tormented live pictures, roving among the painter’s dreams and fantasies and gradually creeping in our own. Here, huddles of warriors armed with threatening sticks evaporate in grotesque images. There, women convulse in pain increased by the doubles that colonize them.

The symbiotic and intimate link to the project the team of performers offer us largely contributes to the success of the piece, as well as the superb (modern and period) costumes and incredible “double”-mannequins by Natacha Belova, also responsible for the sober scenography. Jean Fürst and Thomas Turine build the soundscape and Patrick Bonté nuances these density of its layers with an intense chiaroscuro.

All in all, a masterly homage by Nicole Mossoux to Goya, the torn illustrator of our inner conflicts and the absurd ravages of our martial spirits, the sower of destructive distresses.

Christian Jade, RTBF.be / November 2019

Presse

Danse des mirages et des mystères

Épure et démesure cohabitent depuis toujours dans l’œuvre que construisent Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté. Leur compagnie, fondée il y a plus de 30 ans, continue d’ausculter l’humain sous des points de vue inédits, en plongeant "les mains dans une épaisseur de trouble". Le trouble de la présence, de l’instant, de l’ensemble, "acteurs et spectateurs, dans une sorte de vertige d’être".

Cette immédiateté, indique Patrick Bonté, se double de "la mise à distance que l’art implique", d’une mise en perspective, "de sorte que la mémoire conserve de ce moment à la fois son choc émotif et son appel à penser notre condition et à rendre lisible notre histoire".

Renouant avec la veine picturale savamment explorée déjà – notamment dans Les Dernières Hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien, ou Simonetta Vespucci –, Mossoux-Bonté est allé chercher la "substance fantasmagorique"1 de sa nouvelle création chez un maître du genre : Francisco de Goya. Considéré comme l’un des plus grands précurseurs de l’art contemporain, le peintre espagnol (1746-1828) a laissé une œuvre marquée par l’agitation et la noirceur de son époque. "Le sommeil de la raison engendre des monstres", inscrivit-il au frontispice d’une série de gravures.

Sourd, seul, convalescent, Goya a plus de 70 ans lorsqu’il réalise, sur les murs de deux pièces de sa petite maison proche de Madrid, un cycle de scènes terrifiantes qui seront nommées Pinturas Negras (1819-1823). Parmi elles, figure Le Sabbat des sorcières ou Le Grand Bouc, que l’on retrouve ici.

Une rangée de silhouettes émerge de la pénombre. Costumes sombres, chemises blanches, uniformes du quotidien occidental. Des sons sourds, presque liquides, occupent l’espace. Bientôt apparaît la frêle figure d’une enfant, observatrice et fil rouge de l’univers qui va déployer ses mirages et mystères.

Juan Benítez, Dounia Depoorter, Thomas Dupal, Yvain Juillard, Frauke Mariën, Fernando Martin, Isabelle Lamouline, Shantala Pèpe, Candy Saulnier, Fatou Traore et la jeune Eva Ponties-Domeneghetty (en alternance avec Marie-Lou Adam) habitent The Great He-Goat, en constituent le corps mouvant et pluriel, creusent les sinueuses voies de cette pièce et de ses langages multiples : rythmique, visuel, sensuel, sonore, vocal, gestuel.

On y retrouve la marionnette, le masque, le double, récurrents dans l’art de la Cie Mossoux-Bonté. Lévitations, dédoublements, démembrements et illusions bâtissent et peuplent les tableaux en série dans une suite organique et orgiaque, un rituel cauchemardesque et fascinant. Un cérémonial empruntant autant à l’imagerie sacrée qu’aux codes du cabaret, et dont le caractère puissamment visuel ne délaisse jamais les autres sens.

C’est aux Écuries de Charleroi Danse que cette création a rencontré son premier public – enthousiaste – lors de deux représentations (ces 15 et 16 mars 2019). Espérons d’autres dates à l’avenir sur nos scènes pour cet opus magistral.

Marie Baudet, La Libre / Mars 2019

1 Les citations sont toutes extraites de "La scène de la philosophie est une philosophie sans scène" de Patrick Bonté, paru dans "Philoscène. La philosophie à l’épreuve du plateau." / Alternatives Théâtrales n° 135 (2018)

 

Une succession de tableaux sombres et puissants, un surréalisme où les doubles et les présences à peine discernées rôdent dans les ombres. Fascinant.

Dix interprètes, onze si on y compte une enfant en manteau bleu qui sera comme le témoin des divers tableaux, font corps avec l’ombre. S’ils en sortent pour donner chair à un personnage, à une partition, c’est pour retourner s’y fondre presque aussitôt. Il s’agit pour eux, sans paroles, à l’aide d’un corps qui sera leur seul moyen d’expression, de chercher l’émotion juste, quelque part entre folie, transe mystique, possession, en s’inscrivant dans les tableaux pensés par Nicole Mossoux (...). 

Il y a, dans The Great He-Goat, tout un travail sur les états anormaux du corps, et tout ce qui peut les rendre étranges est sollicité. Ils peuvent léviter. Ils peuvent être cachés par des masques inquiétants et des costumes. Ils peuvent, surtout, être déformés, multipliés, confondus, à l’aide de prothèses de membres, ou de marionnettes-troncs hyperréalistes qui viennent se greffer sur une hanche ou sur un dos.

Si on s’habitue, au bout d’un moment, à distinguer les marionnettes des humains, les premières minutes du spectacle sont absolument sidérantes, quand on réalise que la grappe d’humains en complet-veston qui surgit de l’obscurité à fond de scène a décidément moins de jambes qu’elle ne devrait en avoir étant donné le nombre de têtes que l’on compte (...). 

En tout état de cause les tableaux sont superbes. Les scènes de groupe sont globalement impressionnantes. Les costumes aux riches couleurs, très habilement éclairés, ressortent de l’ombre. Les visages sont extrêmement expressifs. C’est un cours magistral de théâtralité du mouvement que donne la troupe ici assemblée.

Une mention toute particulière doit être faite du traitement du son. En effet, il est majoritairement produit en direct, par les souffles, les borborygmes, les râles des interprètes, qui portent des micros. Les sons ainsi captés sont amplifiés, parfois déformés ou décalés, réinjectés dans l’espace de la scène par des hauts-parleurs qui ne sont pas forcément situés au même endroit que la source… Tout cela produit un effet d’étrangeté, irréel et inquiétant (...). 

En somme, s’il ne s’agit pas d’une œuvre de gaîté et de lumière, ce n’est pas pour autant une pièce morbide, contrairement à ce que son esthétique pourrait laisser penser de prime abord. Il y a de l’espoir, il y a des tableaux poignants, il y a des liens qui se nouent et qui réconfortent au cœur de l’obscurité.

Une œuvre chargée symboliquement, très incarnée, très belle et très forte. Ceux qui viendraient y chercher de la danse pure seraient surpris, car elle porte beaucoup plus vers le mouvement théâtralisé (...). A voir, définitivement.

Mathieu Dochterman, TouteLaCulture.com / Mars 2019

 

(…) une divagation vertigineuse à partir des noirceurs de Goya.

Tout l’art de Nicole Mossoux consiste ici à remplacer la manipulation des esprits par celle des corps, jusqu’à étourdir les sens du spectateur. Belle démonstration de la facilité à manipuler notre esprit ! Là où l’on croit voir une marionnette, le corps apparemment plat et léger d’une femme s’extirpe des bras porteurs. Un autre disparaît entre quatre bras ou se meut grâce à des jambes factices, faisant  disparaître ses propres  jambes. Et même là où, entre toutes ces images paradoxales et parfois kafkaïennes, le cerveau détecte très nettement, en voyant une tête marionettique, l’absence de membres inférieurs, l’esprit lui accorde volontiers un statut d’être humain à part entière. Par ailleurs, la compagnie ne fait pas autrement. Ces mannequins, fabriqués par Natacha Belova, ont leurs noms, à la ville comme à la scène, que seuls les artistes connaissent.

Pour Nicole Mossoux (avec la collaboration à la mise en scène de Patrick Bonté), Goya n’est pas le point d’arrivée, mais un point de départ. Le but n’est pas de reconstituer le tableau, mais d’évoquer l’univers dans lequel naviguait le peintre, à savoir une Espagne profondément cléricale et aristocrate, un pays en guerre et la souffrance d’une population qui était sensible aux croyances occultes et soumise à l’Inquisition. Sur ce fond historique The Great He-Goat dessine pourtant une métaphore de nos temps actuels, où la manipulation des esprits par des voleurs d’âmes et d’esprits est de retour (…).

Les images de The Great He-Goat évoquant la piété, l’inquisition, la souffrance ou la pauvreté viennent d’ailleurs, et d’abord des autres Pinturas Negras, et aussi de tout ce que Goya n’a pas mis dans cette œuvre si emblématique, et du monde actuel. Images oniriques, danses macabres et danses de bâton exprimant fureur et désespoir, gestuelle saccadée, violence de la guerre et jeu social s’inspirent notamment de l’engagement moral de Goya. Nicole Mossoux poursuit donc sur sa route, si personnelle, unique et brillamment tracée, de nouveau en compagnie d’un grand maître et dans une complicité parfaite.

Thomas Hahn, Danser Canal Historique / Avril 2019

 

On connaît l’attrait de la compagnie Mossoux Bonté pour la peinture dont témoigne une de leurs œuvres fondatrices "Les Hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien". Attrait aussi pour le thème du double avec le fameux "Twin Houses" où Nicole Mossoux, soliste, était aux prises aux prises avec son double, un mannequin à la présence obsessionnelle, et aux fantasmes angoissants.

En insufflant dans son œuvre le Goya le plus noir, celui du "Grand Bouc" ("The-Great He-Goat" en anglais) ou le "Sabbat des sorcières", Nicole Mossoux grâce à 10 danseurs/interprètes (un luxe rare) - au sommet de leur expressivité et complicité - fait de ses doubles une multitude de fantômes, comme un peuple inquiet, troublé et troublant (…).

Une œuvre riche d’un imaginaire pictural, sonore et musical où le déchirement individuel devient collectif, ravageur, autodestructeur. Elle a imaginé l’angoisse d’un artiste sourd et vieillissant face à sa misère physique et aux déchirements d‘une société en proie à la guerre civile. Sous les yeux d’une petite fille qui sert de fil conducteur mémoriel à l’ensemble on voit les gardiens du "musée" Goya, envahis par les cauchemars qui peuplent les fresques. Ils se métamorphosent petit à petit en des tableaux vivants torturés, dédoublés, errant dans les songes de Goya et s’insinuent dans les nôtres. Il y a là des groupes de guerriers armés de bâtons menaçants mais qui s’évaporent en images grotesques. Il y a là des femmes convulsées dans des douleurs multipliées par les doubles qui les colonisent.

La réussite de l’œuvre tient à une équipe de danseurs/interprètes qu’on sent intimement liés et complices du projet qu’ils nous offrent. Mais aussi de superbes costumes (anciens et modernes) et d’incroyables mannequins "doubles" de Natacha Belova aussi responsable d’une sobre scénographie. Jean Fürst et Thomas Turine construisent l’espace sonore et Patrick Bonté nuance les densités d’un clair-obscur intense.

Au total un hommage magistral de Nicole Mossoux à Goya, le déchiré, l’illustrateur de nos conflits intérieurs et des ravages absurdes de l’esprit guerrier, semeur d’inquiétudes destructrices.

Christian Jade, RTBF.be / Novembre 2019