© Mikha Wajnrych
© Danièle Pierre
Cie Mossoux-Bonté

Press

The unfathomable witnesses

They are not angels, nor demons. They are ghostly and eternal traces that occasionally come out of the darkness to observe our incomplete and mortal humanity. No constraints tie them down, neither does any terrestrial ritual. The free strangeness they are made of establishes the link between the world and nothingness. The new creation by Patrick Bonté and Nicole Mossoux greatly exceeds the frontiers of contemporary dance to flirt with the disquieted and multiple lines of performance art. Everything is unwonted, captivating and resolutely dark. Les Arrière-Mondes is a macabre and fascinating dance of indisputable shadowy beauty.

The Company’s work has always resided on the outer edge between dance, theatre and performance. This time, the frontier is trespassed as by a logical continuity sharpened from creation to creation. A continuity that advances more and more towards unknown territories, opening new paths. The direction to this enigmatic piece leaves its spectators the freedom to fully interpret it according to their feelings and experience of it. Some will understand it as ill-fated poetry, others as a mystical or metaphysical ode to authorities ruling over mankind. The fact remains, however, that the Company once again manages to create a language specifically suited to the intention behind the production. It is resolutely contemporary and disconcerting.

From the outset presiding over the harsh atmosphere, the musical composition by Thomas Turine is built from jolts and fractured noises over a long crackling sound from old vinyl records on a loop. Wiry spectres appear from the end of their corridors, all partitioned, with no possible contact. Their bodies transfixed by broken movements, actions in which chaos, repetition and disconcertingly sensual flows get muddled up. One shudders on several occasions from surprise, awe or hypnosis. The superb costumes by Jackye Fauconnier favour the characters’ metamorphoses all the while underlining the dryness of the performers’ muscles. Their nakedness is never far off. The improbable wigs seem to come from forgotten times, baroque, medieval and modern at once. We get to discover an entire iconography of beings that exist only in the slits between time, space and our captivated imagination. One hears Eraserhead, thinks of Francis Bacon’s Pope, of Nightbreed by Clive Barker or of Pinhead in Hellraiser.

In April 2020, as rehearsals were supposed to be in full swing and as the pandemic was acquainting us with new sanitary measures, Patrick Bonté and Nicole Mossoux decided to change the scenography so dancers could keep their distances from each other. Not only did the stage set-up become different, but the stakes did too. The constraint of impossible interactions forced the production to adopt and respond to strict codes. This contrived restrain pushed them to find solutions, to change the language these newly solitary bodies were speaking. The research they conducted was a commanding one, with no half measures. The result is a radical performance where tension is palpable from the first to the very last second.

Les Arrière-Mondes is a baffling and uncompromising creation that leads us into unknown places where we are left to face up to our feelings directly. The experience feels like a journey into a timeless world, fantastic and macabre, that holds the spectator in constant fascination. It is impossible to take your eyes away. That’s how much this strange beauty snatches you, hypnotises you, sending down your spine shocks of dread and amazement. A masterpiece.

Jean-Jacques Goffinon, Point Culture / June 2021

 

At the confines of « Les Arrière-Mondes »: out of alignment figures in parallel choreography

(…) Les Arrière-Mondes is the story of a reflection about the fickleness of beings, the continuity of their doubts and torments, the eternal return. It is the story of an imposed rupture, of vertiginous and unremitting uncertainty, of an assented, but no less radical, adaptation1 (...). As the soundscape is filling up with a crackling of haunted murmurs, six figures emerge from the deep. Their parallel paths – six hallways veiled in black, in a scenography by Simon Siegmann – by turns revealing then engulfing them in a back and forth movement that tears them away from the past to thrust them out to meet with the contemporary world, and back (…).

From straight lines, their trajectories will move towards fits and starts, sinuosity, soaking in the unforeseen. The characters, with their faces lengthened with high foreheads and their hair of unlikely geometry, in spite of being compelled to act without seeing each other, will look for each other, tracking the other within themselves in an unregenerate and cavernous quest. Beyond gender and blurred features, identities take shape and assert themselves, just as fleeting as they are intense. Unexpected angles shatter the straight lines. The bodies are knocked out of alignment, divided into two, dismembered. Their presences become the spectres as much as the Vestals of a nightmare grounded in reality. The real, as heckling as it was, is precisely what has forged the diversions and incongruities of this creation. It is also that through which one deciphers the enigma behind Les Arrière-Mondes. Wearing costumes by Jackye Fauconnier, behind the masks, wigs and make-up created by Rebecca Florès-Martinez, the six performers (four of whom collaborate for the first time with the company) powerfully and strangely inhabit this singular procession: Dorian Chavez, Taylor Lecocq, Colline Libon, Lenka Luptakova, Frauke Mariën and Shantala Pèpe. The original music by Thomas Turine sheathes it with textures, rhythms and litanies that join up with the first of ingredients, evanescent and imperious: time, the time that carries in its wake the attempt and the turmoil.

1 Adaptation to the sanitary measures in place at the time of the beginning of the Covid-pandemic.

Marie Baudet, La Libre / June 2021

A dance of darkness

They appear from the deepest obscurity, each evolving in their own oblong perimeter, their faces first hidden in the shadows, their grotesque figures progressively being unveiled. They look like they are coming straight out of Christ Carrying the Cross, attributed to Hieronymus Bosch, or out of portraits by Quentin Metsys. As they go back and forth incessantly, they all take off their attire and are left bold, wearing only a dirty white chemise. It is not so much the Renaissance we are reminded of anymore, but of the more recent ghosts of the sick locked up in psychiatry wards. The back-worlds of the title slowly leave their original meaning of the hereafter or parallel worlds behind to refer to our inner realms and sleeping madness instead.

The double, a recurring theme in the duo’s work, is present once again through the use of masks and unsettling illusions (those two women, of whom we know that they are two, but whom we see become one, like a spider). Twins in short trousers echo the scary twin sisters in the hallways of the Overlook hotel in Kubrick’s Shining. Insanity’s lurking at every corner…

Worrisome and sensual, the six creatures – neither male, nor female - join in a deft and spellbinding finale (…) before lightning strikes the end of the performance.

Estelle Spoto, Focus Vif / June 2021

 

« Les Arrière-Mondes » or the ghosts of humanity

By integrating into their latest creation a constraint born with the pandemic, the Mossoux-Bonté Company delivers a fascinating production that could not be more timeless.

They appear slowly, without a sound, as if they were escaping from an endless night: six characters seeking their history, six silhouettes of which one at first only distinguishes the moving and slightly blurred contours. They hardly move, tremble, stumble sometimes, make a motion, hold it and let it escape again … In only a few minutes, the new production by Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté grasps its audience and leads them into a strange and mysterious universe where the six figures spectators are faced with seem – well – faceless or devoid of personality. They become agitated to no avail and sometimes seem astonished by their own presence, both visible and unreachable, like spectres who would instantly vanish did we try and touch them.

Yet, these undefinable, almost interchangeable, beings gradually start to unmask each other. Each finds its own colour, movement vocabulary, hidden memories that crop up from the depths of time. As it is often the case with Mossoux-Bonté, Les Arrière-Mondes intertwines the fantastic with the everyday, the tragic and the grotesque, humour with dread, the poetic and the trivial (…).

By turning today’s restrictions into a central element of the show, Les Arrière-Mondes invite us to travel through time and the human condition, which more than ever awakens innumerable questions about the here and now.

Jean-Marie Wynants, Le Soir / June 2021

© Mikha Wajnrych
© Mikha Wajnrych
Cie Mossoux-Bonté

Presse

Les témoins insondables

Ils ne sont ni anges, ni démons. Ils sont des traces fantomatiques et éternelles qui sortent épisodiquement de l’obscurité pour observer l’humanité incomplète et mortelle. Ils ne sont attachés à aucune contrainte, à aucun rituel terrestre. Ils sont d’une étrangeté libre faisant le lien entre le monde et le néant. La nouvelle création de Patrick Bonté et Nicole Mossoux dépasse profusément les frontières de la danse contemporaine pour rejoindre les lignes troubles et multiples de la performance. Tout y est insolite, captivant et résolument noir. Les Arrière-Mondes est une danse macabre et fascinante, d’une incontestable beauté enténébrée.

L’au-delà

Le travail de la compagnie Mossoux-Bonté a toujours résidé sur la lisière mince qui sépare la danse, du théâtre et de la performance. Cette fois, la frontière est dépassée comme une continuité logique, effilée d’œuvre en œuvre. Une continuité qui avance de plus en plus vers des mondes inconnus, ouvrant des voies nouvelles. Enigmatique, cette mise en scène laisse aux spectateurs la liberté d’interpréter entièrement le spectacle selon leurs ressentis. Cette nouvelle création, d’aucuns la comprendront comme une poésie funeste, d’autres comme une ode mystique ou métaphysique à des instances supérieures à l’homme. Toujours est-il qu’une fois encore, la compagnie crée un langage propre à son propos, résolument contemporain. Déroutant.

La plastique, le bruit et la stupeur

Présidant d’entrée l’atmosphère âpre, la composition sonore de Thomas Turine est construite de sursauts, de bruits fracturés, sur un long grésillement bouclé de vieux vinyles. Les spectres maigres apparaissent au bout de leurs couloirs, tous cloisonnés, aux contacts impossibles. Les corps sont transpercés de mouvements brisés, d’actions où se mélangent le chaos, la répétition et les fluidités sensuelles déconcertantes. On tressaille plusieurs fois, de surprise, d’effroi, d’hypnose. Les superbes costumes de Jackye Fauconnier sont propices aux métamorphoses des personnages tout en soulignant toujours la sècheresse de leurs muscles. Leur nudité n’est jamais loin. Les coiffes improbables semblent sortir de temps oubliés, baroques, médiévaux et modernes à la fois. On découvre toute l’iconographie d’êtres qui n’existent que dans les interstices entre le temps, l’espace et notre imagination conquise. On entend Eraserhead. On pense au Pape de Francis Bacon, à Nightbreed de Cliver Barker ou à Pinhead dans Hellraiser.

Contraintes et tensions

En avril 2020, à l’heure des répétitions, alors que la pandémie obligeait au respect des règles sanitaires, Patrick Bonté et Nicole Mossoux ont décidé de changer le dispositif scénique pour mettre les danseurs à distances. L’enjeu est devenu autre et le plateau découpé différemment. La contrainte des interactions impossibles a obligé le spectacle à une représentation basée sur des codes stricts. Ce nouveau carcan contraignant les a poussés à trouver des solutions, à changer le langage des corps devenus solitaires. Une recherche impérieuse menée sans demi-mesure, sans ménagement. Il en résulte un spectacle radical où la tension est palpable de la première à la dernière seconde.

Les Arrière-Mondes est une création déconcertante et sans compromis qui nous emmène dans des lieux inconnus pour nous renvoyer directement à nos ressentis. L’expérience ressemble à un voyage dans un monde hors du temps, fantastique et macabre, qui suscite une fascination constante du spectateur. Impossible de détourner le regard tant cette beauté étrange nous happe, nous hypnotise, tout en laissant filer sur l’échine un fin filet d’effroi ou de stupeur. L’œuvre est magistrale.

Jean-Jacques Goffinon, Point Culture / juin 2021

 

Aux confins des “Arrière-Mondes”, ballet parallèle de figures désaxées

(…) Les Arrière-Mondes, c’est l’histoire d’une réflexion sur l’inconstance des êtres, la continuité de leurs doutes et leurs tourments, l’éternel retour ; c’est l’histoire aussi d’une rupture imposée, d’une vertigineuse et implacable incertitude, d’une adaptation consentie, et non moins radicale pour autant1 (...). Tandis que l’espace sonore s’emplit d’un grésillement hanté de murmures, six figures émergent des profondeurs. Leurs chemins parallèles – six couloirs voilés de noir, dans une scénographie signée Simon Siegmann – vont tour à tour les révéler et les engloutir, dans un va-et-vient qui les arrache au passé pour les propulser au-devant du monde contemporain, et retour (…).

De rectilignes, ces trajectoires iront vers l’à-coup, la sinuosité, s’imbibent d’imprévu. Avec leur visage prolongé d’un front haut et leurs chevelures aux géométries improbables, les personnages, contraints d’agir sans se voir, cependant se cherchent, pistant l’autre en soi dans une quête obstinée, caverneuse. Par-delà le genre et les traits floutés, des identités s’esquissent, s’affirment, aussi fugaces qu’intenses. Des angles inattendus brisent la ligne droite. Les corps se désaxent, dédoublent, démembrent. Leurs présences deviennent les spectres autant que les vestales d’un cauchemar arrimé au réel. Car c’est bien lui qui a forgé les détournements et décalages de cette création. Et à travers lui, si chahuté, qu’on déchiffre l’énigme des Arrière-Mondes. Sous les costumes de Jackye Fauconnier, derrière les masques, les coiffes et les maquillages créés par Rebecca Florès-Martinez, six interprètes (dont quatre collaborent pour la première fois avec la compagnie) habitent puissamment, étrangement ce ballet singulier : Dorian Chavez, Taylor Lecocq, Colline Libon, Lenka Luptakova, Frauke Mariën et Shantala Pèpe. La musique originale de Thomas Turine gaine le tout de textures, rythmes et litanies qui rejoignent cet ingrédient premier, évanescent et impérieux : le temps. Portant dans son sillage la tentative et le trouble.

1 Adaptation aux mesures sanitaires en place au début de la pandémie de coronavirus.

Marie Baudet, La Libre / Juin 2021

 

Danse des ténèbres 

(…) C'est de profondes ténèbres qu'ils apparaissent, chacun évoluant dans son périmètre oblong, les visages d'abord dans l'ombre, et dévoilant progressivement des figures grotesques, comme sorties du Portement de Croix attribué à Jérôme Bosch ou des portraits de Quentin Metsys. Au fil des incessants allers-retours, ils se défont de leurs atours pour revenir, toutes et tous, chauves et vêtus d'une nuisette d'un blanc sale. Ce n'est plus la Renaissance qui est alors convoquée, mais les fantômes plus récents de malades enfermés en psychiatrie. Et les arrière-mondes du titre quittent leur signification d'au-delà ou de monde parallèle pour devenir intérieurs, suggérant notre part de folie en sommeil.

Le thème du double, récurrent chez le duo, est ici bien présent, à travers l'utilisation de masques et d'illusions troublantes (ces deux femmes dont on sait pertinemment qu'elles sont deux et qui pourtant deviennent une, arachnéenne). Et des jumeaux en culotte courte de faire écho aux effrayantes jumelles des couloirs de l'hôtel Overlook dans le Shining de Kubrick. Encore la folie qui rôde...

Inquiétantes et sensuelles, les six créatures ni hommes ni femmes se rejoignent dans un final bien calé et envoûtant (…) avant l'éclair ultime.

Estelle SpotoFocus Vif / juin 2021

 

« Les Arrière-Mondes » ou les fantômes de l’humanité 

En intégrant à sa nouvelle création, une contrainte née de la pandémie, la compagnie Mossoux-Bonté livre un spectacle fascinant et plus intemporel que jamais.

Ils apparaissent lentement, sans un bruit, comme échappés d’une nuit sans fin : six personnages en quête de leur histoire, six silhouettes dont on ne distingue d’abord que les contours mouvants, un peu flous. Ils bougent à peine, frémissent, titubent parfois, esquissent un mouvement, le retiennent, le laissent échapper à nouveau... En l’espace de quelques minutes à peine, la nouvelle création de Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté happe le spectateur, l’entraîne dans un univers étrange, mystérieux, où les six personnages qui nous font face ne semblent pas avoir vraiment de visage, de personnalité définie. Ils s’agitent vainement, donnent parfois l’impression d’être eux-mêmes étonnés de leur présence, à la fois visibles et insaisissables, comme des spectres qui disparaîtraient d’un coup s’il nous venait la fantaisie de tendre la main pour tenter de les toucher.

Pourtant, petit à petit, ces êtres indéfinissables, presque interchangeables, commencent à se démarquer les uns des autres. Chacun trouve sa couleur, sa gestuelle, ses souvenirs enfouis qui rejaillissent de la nuit des temps. Comme souvent chez Mossoux-Bonté, ces Arrière-Mondes mêlent le fantastique et le quotidien, le tragique et le grotesque, l’humour et l’effroi, la poésie et le trivial (…).

Faisant des contraintes du moment un élément central du spectacle, ces Arrière-Mondes nous convient à un voyage à travers le temps et la condition humaine qui, plus que jamais, éveille en nous d’innombrables questions sur l’ici et maintenant.

Jean-Marie WynantsLe Soir / juin 2021